



Current Affairs:01.09.2021

Former SBI Chief Rajnish Kumar appointed as independent director of HSBC Asia



The former State Bank of India (SBI) chairman **Rajnish Kumar** has been appointed as an **independent director of the Hongkong and Shanghai Banking Corporation (HSBC)** Asia entity on August 30, 2021.He has also been appointed as the member of Audit Committee and Risk Committee of the company.Mr Rajnish Kumar retired as SBI

Chairman in October 2020 after a 40-year career at the SBI.

PhonePe receives direct broking licence from IRDAI



Flipkart-owned digital payments platform **PhonePe** has received an insurance broking licence from Insurance Regulatory and Development Authority of India (IRDAI). This means that with the new **'direct broking' licence**, PhonePe can now distribute insurance products from all insurance companies in India, on its platform.

Earlier in January 2020, PhonePe entered the insurtech sector, but with a limited insurance 'corporate agent' licence, which restricted it to partner with only three insurance companies per category.

Avani Lekhara wins gold in shooting at Tokyo Paralympics 2020



Indian paralympic shooter **Avani Lekhara** won the first **gold** medal for India at the Tokyo Paralympics 2020 in the **women's 10m air rifle** standing SH1 event on August 30, 2021. Lakhara has now become the first Indian woman to win a gold medal in shooting at an Olympic and

Paralympic Games. The 19-year-old Lekhara scored 249.6 in the final to claim the medal, and with this, she has also equalled the world record and surpassed the Paralympic record. Avani Lekhara hails from Jaipur, Rajasthan.

Javelin Thrower Sumit Antil Wins Gold for India at Tokyo Paralympics



India's **Sumit Antil** has won **gold** medal in **men's javelin throw** F64 final event at the Tokyo Paralympics, and in the process set a new world record throw of 68.55m. The 23year-old Sumit hails from Sonepat in Haryana.Michal Burian of Australia won the silver medal (66.29m), while Sri Lanka's Dulan Kodithuwakku won bronze medal.This

is the second gold medal for India at the ongoing Tokyo Games and now the total medal tally of India has reached 7.

Cross & Climb, Rohtak

• Earlier, the bronze medal won by Vinod Kumar in the discus throw F56 final was declared as ineligible by the classification panel.

Yogesh Kathuniya wins silver in discus throw at Tokyo Paralympics 2020



India's **discus thrower Yogesh Kathuniya** has clinched **silver** medal at the ongoing Tokyo Paralympics in the men's Discus Throw F56 final event. Yogesh claimed the second spot with a throw of 44.38m.Batista dos Santos from Brazil won gold, setting a paralympic record with a throw of 45.59m. L. Diaz Aldana from Cuba bagged bronze..

Devendra Jhajharia Wins silver while Sundar Singh Gurjar claims bronze in Javelin throw event of Tokyo Paralympics



At the ongoing Tokyo Paralympics 2020, India's greatest paralympian, **Devendra Jhajharia** won the **silver medal in the men's javelin throw** – F46 final event on August 30, 2021. The 40-year-old Devendra performed his best throw of 64.35, for the silver. In the same event, **Sundar**

Singh Gurjar won the **bronze medal**, with his best throw of 64.01. With this, the total medal tally of India at the Paralympics 2020 Games reaches to seven. **Indian cricketer Stuart Binny announces retirement from all forms of cricket**





Indian all-rounder **Stuart Binny** has announced his **retirement** from **all forms of cricket** on August 30, 2021.Stuart Binny had represented the Team India in six Tests, 14 ODIs and three T20Is, scoring a total of 459 runs and 24 wickets.In the Indian Premier League, he played for the Rajasthan Royals.Binny holds the record of the best bowling figures in ODI format

Noted Bengali Writer Buddhadeb Guha passes away at 85



Eminent **Bengali writer Buddhadeb Guha**, has passed away after a massive cardiac arrest. He was 85.Guha was the author of many notable works such as "Madhukari" (Honey Gatherer), "Koeler Kachhe" (Near the Koel bird) and "Sobinoy Nibedon" (Humble Offering).He also won several awards including Ananda Purashkar in 1976,

Shiroman Purashkar and Sharat Puraskar.