

## Cross & Climb, Rohtak



## **Current Affairs:25-26.10.2021**

Prime Minister Narendra Modi launches pan-India Rs. 5,000-crore 'Ayushman Bharat Health Infrastructure Mission' from Varanasi

- Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi launched the "Ayushman Bharat Health Infrastructure Mission" on October 25, 2021, from his parliamentary constituency Varanasi in Uttar Pradesh.
- The Ayushman Bharat Health Infrastructure Mission is one of the largest **pan-India** schemes for strengthening healthcare infrastructure across the country, and is in addition to the National Health Protection Mission (Ayushman Bharat Yojana).
- Total outlay of the scheme: **Rs. 64,180 crore for 5 years**
- **Purpose:** to address gaps in public health infrastructure, with focus on critical care facilities and primary care in both urban and rural areas.
- **Benefit:** The scheme shall strengthen India's ability to fight and contain outbreaks of diseases in the future.
- Under the scheme, 17,788 rural health and wellness centres in 10 high focus states will get the support of the scheme.
- For urban area, 11,024 urban health and wellness centres will be established in all the states.
- Apart from this, a national institution for one health, four new national institutes for virology, a regional research platform for WHO South East Asia Region, nine biosafety level-III laboratories, five new regional national centre for disease control will also be set up.

### NITI Aayog launches "Innovations for You" Digi-Book

- The Atal Innovation Mission (AIM) of **NITI Aayog** has launched a Digi-book named "**Innovations for You**". The **sector in focus in this Digi-book is Healthcare**.
- The book is a compilation of 45 health tech startups, incubated at Atal Incubation Centres spread across the country.
- "Innovation for you" is an initiative of Niti Aayog to share success stories of Atal Innovation Mission's Startups in different domains.

### India, UK and Australia to jointly launch IRIS initiative at COP26

- India, Australia, and the UK in collaboration with small island developing states (SIDS), have planned to launch a new initiative "Infrastructure for Resilient Island States (IRIS)", on the sidelines of the Conference of Parties (COP26).
- The IRIS platform aims at creating an infrastructure that can withstand disasters and lessen economic losses in island nations.
- The IRIS initiative will be launched with an initial funding of \$10 million from Australia, India and the UK.
- The 2021 United Nations Climate Change Conference (COP26) is scheduled to take place from October 31 to November 12, 2021.



## Cross & Climb, Rohtak



# Government sets up National Steering Committee for implementation of the NIPUN Bharat Mission; Head: Education Minister Dharmendra Pradhan

- The **Department of School Education and Literacy** has constituted a **National Steering Committee** (NSC) for implementation of the <u>NIPUN Bharat Mission</u>.
- The Union Education Minister, **Shri Dharmendra Pradhan** will be the Chairperson of the NSC and Minister of State for Education, Smt. Annpurna Devi will be the Vice Chairperson.

#### Invest India elected as President of Geneva-based WAIPA for 2021-2023

- Invest India, a young startup within the Government of India, has been unanimously elected as the President of the World Association of Investment Promotion Agencies (WAIPA) for 2021-2023.
- Invest India is the National Investment Promotion and Facilitation Agency to help investors looking for investment opportunities and options in India.
- The members of the Steering Committee of WAIPA for 2021-23 includes:
  - President Invest India
  - Two Vice Presidents Egypt and Switzerland
  - 9 Regional Directors Brazil, South Korea, Finland, Kuwait, Costa Rica, Cyprus, Azerbaijan, Ghana, and Samoa.

#### Legendary Actor Rajnikanth conferred upon 51st Dadasaheb Phalke Award

- Veteran actor **Rajinikanth** has been honoured with the prestigious **51st** Dada Saheb Phalke Award for his outstanding contribution to the world of Indian cinema.
- The legendary actor received the Dadasaheb Phalke award for 2019 at the 67th National Film Awards in New Delhi on October 25, 2021 by Vice President M. Venkaiah Naidu.

## Former NIO Scientist Dr. Rajiv Nigam Selected for 2022 Joseph A. Cushman Award

- **Dr. Rajiv Nigam,** the former Chief Scientist at CSIR-National Institute of Oceanography (NIO), Goa, has been selected for the **2022 Joseph A. Cushman Award for Excellence in Foraminiferal Research.**
- Dr. Nigam is the first Indian Citizen to be selected for the prestigious award. He has been chosen for his outstanding lifetime contributions to the field of foraminifera (microfossil) research.
- He will receive the award at the Cushman Reception during the 2022 Geological Society of America meeting in Denver, Colorado, USA, from October 9-12-2022.
- The Joseph A. Cushman Award was established by USA based Cushman foundation for foraminiferal Research in 1979.



## Cross & Climb, Rohtak



#### Max Verstappen wins 2021 United States Grand Prix

- Max Verstappen (Red Bull Netherlands) has won the 2021 United States Grand Prix held at the Circuit of the Americas in Austin, Texas, United States. on October 24, 2021.
- This is the 8th win for Verstappen in this season.
- The race was 17th round of the 2021 Formula One World Championship.
- Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes-Great Britain) stood second while Sergio Perez (Mexico-Red Bull) came third.

# Ahmedabad and Lucknow are the two new teams of the Indian Premier League (IPL)

- Ahmedabad and Lucknow are the two new teams that will be part of the Indian Premier League (IPL) from 2022. Hence taking the total number of teams in the competition to ten.
- RP-Sanjiv Goenka Group (RPSG) is the owner of the Lucknow team while CVC Capital Partners is the owner of the Ahmedabad team.
- RPSG group has won the bid for Lucknow at Rs. 7090 crore, while CVC Capitals a.k.a Irelia has won the bid for Ahmedabad at Rs. 5625 crore.
- The IPL's first season was played in 2008. There have been fourteen seasons of the IPL tournament. The 15th season will see 10 teams competing for the IPL title.